Award Winners

BME Day Poster Award

2014 – Janine Ruppen & Christoph Strub, “Increased Perfusion-Induced Chemoresistance in Multicellular Pleural Cancer Spheroids Cultured in a Microfluidic Chip”
2015 – Tom Williamson, “High accuracy surface matching and navigation on the lateral skull base”
2016 – Joachim Dehais, “A computer Vision-Based Smartphone System for Carbohydrate Counting”
2017 – Sandro De Zanet, “Retinal Slit Lamp Stitching
2018 – Can Gökgöl, “The effects of Nitinol stent oversizing in patients
undergoing femoro-popliteal artery revascularization

2019 – Mareike Apelt, “Tissue Impedance Spectroscopy to Guide Resection of Brain Tumours

BME Day Master Abstract Award

2014 – Raphael Meier, “Decision Forest for Multimodal Brain Tumor Segmentation”
2015 – shared by Manuel Jonas Bracher, „Wireless Functional Electrical Simulation“ and Andreas Dünki,Experimental Validation of an HR-pQCT-based Homogenized Finite Element Analysis of Human Distal Radius Sections
2016 – Jan Beerstecher, “Implant Design for a Long-term Esophageal ECG Recorder”
2017 Michael Indermaur, “Visualization of Trabecular Bone Damage using MicroCT
2018 Christopher Lenherr, “Indentation Properties of Metastatic Vertebral Bone”
2019 Vikas Mathew, “Erythrocyte-Based Nanotechnology for Personalized Drug Delivery Systems”

Travel Grant Winners (2 x CHF 400.-/Year)

2016 Adel Tekari, ISTB, University Bern for his oral presentation at the “Global Spine Congress”, 13 – 16 April 2016, Dubai.
2017 Rakesh Vasireddy, University Bern for his paper K-Band Doppler Radar is feasible and accurate to record and assess overnight respiratory rate presentation at the “European Medical and Biological Engineering Conference (EMBEC) and the Nordic-Baltic Conference on Biomedical Engineering and Medical Physics (NBC)”, 11 – 15 June 2017, Tampere, Finland.
2018 Stephan Gerber, ARTORG, University Bern for his oral presentation at the “40th International Engineering in Medicine and Biology Conference”, 17 – 21 July 2018, Honululu, Hawaii.

Student Travel Award Winners

Student Travel Award (CHF 50.-) discontinued in 2016
2012 – Mohammad Javad Shamsollahi
2013 – Pietro Bottani, Diana Peña
2014 – Aarati Chacko
2015 – Stephan Gerber